What is a friend?

Rotten AppleWhat is a friend?

Is it enough to be friendly? Is it enough to be trustworthy? Can a bad person be a good friend? Can a good person be a bad friend?

How well must I know someone before I can justly consider them my friend?

Can I have friends that are better friends than others? Is a bad friend a friend at all? How about when a good friend does a bad thing to a good friend? Is that even possible for a good friend?

Is my good friend characterized by how much I care or is he characterized by how good he is at being my friend? Who are my good friends? Who are my best friends? Is she my best friend because she is my closest friend? Or is he my best friend because he’s the best at being a friend? Is there a difference?

Is a friend someone I enjoy hanging out with? Is it someone I hang out with often? Is hanging out in person necessary for a true, meaningful friendship?

What is a friend?

What are my responsibilities as a friend towards my friends? What are their responsibilities towards me and what should I expect? Do friends have responsibilities towards one another to begin with? Friendship should at least be reciprocated, right?

Is being a friend characterized by being a friend? What I mean to ask is: Is being a friend something we do or accomplish? Or is “friend” merely a label we bestow upon people whimsically and arbitrarily?

Should I have a standard for a person to measure up to before I consider one a friend?

Should I respect the views of my friend even when they’re wrong? Even when it would lead to unavoidable harm? Do I respect his autonomy and let him make a bad decision? Or do I care for her well-being and do my best to prevent her from making a mistake?

Should I continue to be a friend to someone who has become a bad person or a bad friend? Does being a friend come at the cost of myself? Or is a friendship mutually beneficial?

What is the role of a friend in the life of another friend?

I had a friend and then he died: Is he still my friend?

I had a friend and then he changed: Is he still my friend? Is he the same friend?

I had a friend who told me he didn’t want to be my friend anymore. He doesn’t talk to me, maybe he doesn’t even think about me, but I think about him. Do I miss my “friend”? Is he my friend even though he doesn’t consider himself my friend? Am I justified in calling him my friend?

Am I justified in saying “I miss my friend”?

I had a friend who I betrayed, disregarded, and treated as if he had never meant anything to me — but still, I think of him as one of the best friends I have ever had; am I right in thinking so?

How can I be a good friend to some and a bad friend to others? How can I be both a good person and a bad? If an apple is only half rotten, it is rotten apple — can the same be said of a person?

I want to be a good person. I want to be a good friend.

“What is a friend?”

I think have an answer.

Leave a Reply

